BHOPAL: 24 HOURS

Life never goes in our favor all the time, there are ups and downs which are good, but we never know the depth of our downfall, after all there is point of saturation in hard work mainly in case of self-motivation and hope.

@travelautoboy

I was going through bad time, haven’t slept whole night and at around 9 in the morning I got sleep. I woke up around 11, and after freshen up I saw my phone, I had two missed calls of my elder brother. I called him, he said he is going to Bhopal for a meeting and if I’m free I can join him for a day road trip. I told him I’ll reply you in an hour.

Due to ongoing problems in my life, I was not going out of home for more than a day or two. I was already in lot of stress, so I decided to hit the road with my brother. On his next call I said I’m in for Bhopal.

We started for Bhopal in night around 11:30. We pick up Raju bro from his place and got the tank full and hit the road. Yamuna Expressway, the 200 km stretch is the easy but tricky. Easy because the road is broad and well maintained, but tricky as well because, it makes the driver sleepy all the time in night. We reached Agra in 4 hours. From there we went inside the city Agra to connect Agra – Mumbai highway.

Yamuna Expressway

I’ve been to Bhopal three four times before but this time there was one relaxation on the road that the toll booth was now digital, so no long queues for paying toll tax.
In Uttar Pradesh some patches of highway are not in good condition, so many pot holes and traffic jam, but as we were moving towards Madhya Pradesh the roads were getting smoother. After crossing Dholpur, a small city which comes in Rajasthan, from there Madhya Pradesh state starts.

Morena Toll Booth

After crossing Morena in Madhya Pradesh, there can be seen lots on sudden movement of cows and buffaloes on the highway.

Sun rise in Madhy Pradesh

It was around 3:45 am, we took a hard brake on highway to save a buffalo. These cattle make illusion on the highway, in the dark time they mix with dark and hard to recognise and in the light time they get mix with the sky, as on these highways of Madhya Pradesh there are barren land on both the side.

Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

At around 7 in the morning we stopped at a fuel station, freshen up and started again for Bhopal. At around 10:30 am we reached Bhopal. My elder brother got his work done, wind up his meeting and then we went to lake view point in Bhopal.

Bhopal city is one of the best cities in India. It is surrounded by clean artificial lakes, we can see trees and green plants planted everywhere in the city. Even the city is called smart city as there is WiFi facility in city everywhere.

Lake View Point

We stayed at lake view point for half an hour and then we started again for Delhi around 2:30 pm. It was extreme summer day; the AC of the car was unable to provide the cooling. We opened the window and sudden heat waves hit us badly, we were drenched in sweat, Raju bro were lying on the rear seat and were begging for water. But we were helpless, most of the highway in Madhya Pradesh are empty, surrounded by barren lands, there were no motels or small shops.

We all were thirsty, sweating, and the AC was not cooling. Luckily we found a tree on the highway, we stopped the car under the shade of tree to get relief from extreme heat of Madhya Pradesh. There I realised the importance of trees in human life. I was out of the car, standing under the tree shade I was in state of complete dilemma, the heat stroke hit me hard. We gather some courage and get back to the road. It was complete silence on the road, we can see the watery phenomenon called mirage on the road. My elder brother and Raju bro removed their shirt and were in their vest (sando) to get some direct cooling in their bodies. Raju bro was praying to god for early sunset.

5:30 pm, after 70 km a toll came and there after a kilometre there were some shops and one shop was of wine and Beer, and that time the smile on the face of my brother was priceless. They grab some very chilled beer with extra ice and some chilled water bottles. Though the beer were double the price but that time was where money doesn’t matter.

I still remember the first sip of the chilled water; I was able to feel the flow of water from my mouth to stomach. Raju bro was rubbing the ice on his body and my brother quickly open the beer can and took some sips to beat the heat.

Sun set at Madhya Pradesh

After half an hour later, it started raining and it was like ice on the cake. We were completely relaxed. But we lost our pace on the road during all this. We crossed Morena and entered Uttar Pradesh and from there we started covering the time. Now we were hard on accelerator. After Agra we were on Expressway, we covered some of our time and reached Delhi safely around 2:30 am.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Deep C says:

    Interesting !!

    Like

    1. Himanshu says:

      Thank you sir

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment